The Monster Club turns a child’s first cooking lesson or science activity into something they can make with their own hands. I like the small class limit of eight and the choice between a 90-minute cooking session and a shorter STEAM workshop. Both give children a chance to create, rather than just watch.
I also like that the cooking class ends with a dish to take home, while Let’s Make welcomes parents to join in. One caution: you must confirm the exact branch and class time before booking. Availability can be a problem, and a voucher is tied to its selected center and date.
- At a glance: two hands-on classes
- What your child actually does
- Let’s Cook: 90 minutes from mixing to take-home dish
- Let’s Make: a shorter STEAM session with parents
- Choosing a branch in Hong Kong
- Price and what you get for it
- The teaching and group-size question
- Who will get the most from it
- Booking details to check before you pay
- Should you book The Monster Club?
- FAQ
- What ages can take part?
- How long does each workshop last?
- How many children are in a class?
- Can parents join the activity?
- Which centers offer the workshops?
- Can I cancel or use the voucher at another branch?
- The Best Of Hong Kong!
- More Workshops & Classes in Hong Kong
- More Tours in Hong Kong
- More Tour Reviews in Hong Kong
- Not for you? Here's more nearby things to do in Hong Kong we have reviewed
At a glance: two hands-on classes
- Let’s Cook: A 1.5-hour introductory cooking session for ages 3 to 12. Children work together on a dish they can take home.
- Let’s Make: A parent-and-child activity built around STEAM projects and experiments. The stated duration is 40 to 45 minutes in the workshop details, though the included information also gives one hour.
- Small groups: Each class has a maximum of eight children. That is a useful cap, but one class of eight may still feel busy if staffing is limited.
- Several branches: Centers are listed at Amoy Plaza, Hang Hau, Tai Koo Shing, Lohas Park, and New Town Plaza in Sha Tin.
- Prices start at US$57.35: The cooking program is also listed at HK$450 and up, while Let’s Make starts at HK$300. Check the selected package for its exact price and activity.
- Book the branch carefully: Reservations are required, and the voucher cannot be transferred to another center.
👉 See our pick of the Best Historical Tours In Hong Kong
What your child actually does

The basic idea is refreshingly simple: children learn through doing. The Monster Club runs English, science, and cooking activities, with the aim of giving young students a lively setting in which to build skills and curiosity. The activity details do not promise a particular recipe, experiment, or English lesson, so treat the class as a hands-on session rather than a guaranteed curriculum milestone.
There are two different formats, and choosing the right one matters. Let’s Cook is the longer option and centers on preparing food. Let’s Make is shorter and focuses on creative STEAM activities, with parents able to participate alongside their children.
These are not interchangeable classes. If your child wants to stir, assemble, and finish a dish, choose Let’s Cook. If they are drawn to experiments or craft-like making, Let’s Make may be the better fit. The specific project can vary, so ask the center what is planned for your chosen date before you commit.
You can also read our reviews of more tours and experiences in Hong Kong
Let’s Cook: 90 minutes from mixing to take-home dish

Let’s Cook is designed as a first taste of cooking for children ages 3 to 12. The class lasts 1.5 hours, and children work together to create a dish they can take home. That final step gives the session a satisfying finish: your child leaves with something tangible, and possibly something edible, rather than only a memory of the activity.
The small-group maximum is eight children. That can give a young cook more room to take part than a large class, though the number alone does not tell you how much individual help each child will receive. One parent described a class of eight with only one teacher as chaotic, with a second teacher later added. If your child is young, shy, or needs close support, ask the center how many teachers will be in the specific class.
The positive side of the experience is clear in the details families value: children enjoy the class, teachers are described as patient, and the completed food can go home. A child who is still building confidence in English may still find the activity enjoyable, according to one parent who said the teacher helped children with different levels of listening and language ability.
Cooking together can also make English feel less like a lesson at a desk. Children have a practical task to focus on, and the shared activity gives them a reason to listen and participate. Still, the exact balance of cooking, English instruction, and teacher attention is not specified, so ask if one part matters especially to your family.
Let’s Make: a shorter STEAM session with parents

Let’s Make offers creative activities and experiments connected to science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics. Children can explore a project while working on creativity, scientific understanding, cognition, and motor skills. The class is aimed at ages 3 to 12, with a maximum of eight students.
The duration needs a little clarification. The workshop description gives 40 to 45 minutes, while the included activity information lists one hour. Plan for a short session, but confirm the expected length with the chosen branch before arranging the rest of your day.
Parents can participate, which changes the feel of the class. You are not simply dropping off a child and waiting for the finished result. You can help them follow the activity, encourage them to try things, and share the making itself. That makes this format especially appealing for a first visit or for a child who prefers having a parent nearby.
A slime-making session has been offered at one branch, and a parent found the tutor patient and the activity enjoyable, though the making time felt short. That is a useful reminder: a compact class can be fun, but children who want a long stretch of uninterrupted crafting may wish to check the activity and session length first.
Choosing a branch in Hong Kong

The centers are spread across several districts, so location should be part of your decision, not an afterthought. The available branches are:
- Amoy Plaza: Shop S102-104, second floor, Phase 1, 77 Ngau Tau Kok Road, Kowloon Bay.
- Hang Hau: Shops A17 and A29, ground floor, Nan Fung Plaza, 8 Pui Shing Road, Tseung Kwan O. The center is beside Hang Hau MTR Station, Exit B.
- Tai Koo Shing: Shops P506-507, Po On Mansion, 1 Tai Yue Road, Tai Koo Shing.
- Lohas Park: Unit 401, Level 4, The LOHAS, 1 Lohas Park Road, Tseung Kwan O.
- New Town Plaza: UB07-08, Play Park, Phase 1, New Town Plaza, Sha Tin.
The activity details name New Town Plaza as the meeting point, but package options also identify other branches. Do not assume that a New Town Plaza booking can be used at another center. Choose the package for the branch you want, then confirm its address and class time directly with the center.
This detail is worth taking seriously. One parent found that the advertised date and time at Lohas Park were not available and that a refund was not offered. Since reservations are required and the voucher is non-refundable, confirm the slot with the branch before purchasing if possible.
Price and what you get for it

The listed starting price is US$57.35. Let’s Cook is shown at HK$450 and up, while Let’s Make starts at HK$300. Because the package options and prices may differ by branch or activity, check the final selection rather than assuming the starting price covers every class.
For Let’s Cook, the value comes from a 90-minute guided activity, a small class cap, and a dish to take home. If your child is keen to cook, that can be a more memorable use of the money than a passive outing. The value drops if you are mainly looking for childcare or a full meal: this is a class for children, not a restaurant visit, and the dish is part of the activity.
Let’s Make costs less at its stated starting price and takes less time. That can suit a child who wants to try a creative workshop without signing up for a longer session. But if the activity itself lasts closer to 40 minutes, the price may feel high for a brief visit, especially if your child is hoping for a longer project.
Some families return for multiple classes, and one parent noted that buying through Klook was cheaper than the usual price. Another described a system involving a class card and Monster money children could save and use to buy items. Those arrangements may relate to particular packages or branches, so ask whether they apply to the single-session option you are considering.
The teaching and group-size question

The strongest practical point in the experience is the potential for attentive teaching. Parents have praised friendly, patient staff and teachers who can keep children engaged, including children who are not yet confident listeners. Polite reception staff have also been singled out, which matters when you are arranging a child’s first class or sorting out a booking.
The less reassuring detail is class management. A class of eight can be a good size on paper, but one parent found that a cooking session with eight children and one teacher became disorganized. The number of students is a maximum, not a promise of a particular teacher-to-child ratio.
Before paying, ask how many children are enrolled and how many teachers will be present. You might also ask if parents stay in the room, particularly for Let’s Cook, since parent participation is specifically noted for Let’s Make. These are practical questions, not fussy ones: they help you choose a session that fits your child’s age and temperament.
Who will get the most from it
I would consider Let’s Cook for a child who is curious about food, enjoys making things, or would benefit from a structured group activity. The 90-minute length gives the class more time to develop, and taking the finished dish home gives children a clear result to share with family.
Let’s Make is a sensible choice for a younger child, a short first try, or a parent who wants to join the activity. Its shorter format may be easier for a child with limited patience, though the duration difference should be checked with the branch. The age range is broad, from 3 to 12, so ask how the center handles projects for children at different stages.
Neither option is an ideal pick if you need a guaranteed date without contacting the center, or if your child dislikes group activities. The no-refund terms make advance confirmation especially important. Families who value hands-on learning and can be flexible about the class project are likely to get more from it.
Booking details to check before you pay
Reservations are required and subject to availability. The voucher is valid only for the selected date and, where applicable, time. It is also tied to the center you choose, so once the branch is confirmed, it cannot be changed.
The payment is non-refundable, and cancellations are not accepted. The voucher is not transferable and cannot be exchanged for cash. Keep the redemption letter safe, as a lost, stolen, or damaged copy will not be replaced.
Confirmation is usually issued within minutes. If it does not arrive, contact customer support. Before booking, verify the branch, time, class type, activity plan, and teacher arrangement with the center. That small bit of preparation can prevent the main frustration reported by families: arriving with a voucher for a session the branch cannot provide.
Should you book The Monster Club?
Book it if your child likes making things and you want a focused, hands-on activity in Hong Kong. Let’s Cook offers the stronger value for a child eager to prepare food and take a dish home. Let’s Make is the shorter, parent-friendly option for creative experiments and STEAM activities.
I would not pay until I had confirmed the exact branch and time, especially given the non-refundable terms and the reported scheduling problem. Ask about the planned activity and staffing, too. If the answers fit your child and the location is convenient, this can be a cheerful way to spend part of a day learning by doing.
The Monster Club – Let’s Make & Let’s Cook Workshop | Tseung Kwan O | Kowloon Bay | TaiKoo Shing | Hang Hau
“The environmental facilities are quite good. There are foreign teachers and Huaren foreign teachers. It's just that something went wrong with my co…”
FAQ
What ages can take part?
Both Let’s Cook and Let’s Make are listed for children ages 3 to 12.
How long does each workshop last?
Let’s Cook lasts 1.5 hours. Let’s Make is described as 40 to 45 minutes in one section and one hour in another, so confirm the duration with the selected center.
How many children are in a class?
The maximum is eight students per class. The number of teachers is not specified and may be worth checking before you book.
Can parents join the activity?
Parents can participate in Let’s Make. Parent participation is not specified for Let’s Cook.
Which centers offer the workshops?
The listed locations are Amoy Plaza, Hang Hau, Tai Koo Shing, Lohas Park, and New Town Plaza in Sha Tin.
Can I cancel or use the voucher at another branch?
No. The purchase is non-refundable, and the voucher is valid only for the selected center and date. Once the location is confirmed, it cannot be changed.



































